Follow TBR on TwitterFollow TBR on Facebook

TBR Featured Review

The most unique sci-fi novel I’ve read in years.

What happens when the world gets too optimized? Joel E. Lorentzen, the author, answers that question in his unique, inventive and thought-provoking novel, Proles - a novel about 2084. In the not too distant future, the gap between the have’s and the have nots is as wide as it has ever been, but not for the reason you may think. Money is not the cause in the future, optimization more 

Book By Author:  R. K. Avery

Not My Mother's Son
 Not My Mother's Son
 Brighton Publishing


Devious. Conniving. Deceitful. Insidious. David Miller thought he knew his mother. He thought kidnapping three children was the most appalling and horrendous thing any human being could do and she couldn’t possibly do anything more monstrous. He thought there was nothing else she could do or say that would astound him. How wrong he was.
After Beatrice Miller, David’s serial kidnapping mother, is sentenced to thirty years, David Miller moves to Phoenix, Arizona and with the help of a trust fund and an old friend, starts the Never Give Up foundation, an organization dedicated to finding and returning exploited and missing children safely to their families. With all the bad things his mother had done, David feels it is his unspoken duty to do something worthwhile.
            Hesitant at first but after reading his mothers journal, David is determined to mend their dysfunctional relationship. Every time David visits Bea in prison, she comes across as deranged insisting people are trying to kill her. She ends each brief encounter with a chilling statement, “Remember David, things aren’t always what they seem.” What does that mean?
            As word about the foundation spreads, the services the Never Give Up are requested time-and-time-again to help where other agencies have failed. That is, until the police come knocking on David’s door and arrest him, taking him back to Bunting Valley, North Dakota, for the murder of a newborn baby boy. 
Forced to shut down Never Give Up, David is amazed at how quickly the entire world turns their back on him. The trial begins and his mother’s testimony is the only thing that can save him. Telling the truth is as foreign to Beatrice Miller as giving up drugs is to an addict. As everyone in the courtroom holds their breath, you will too…remember, things are not always what they seem.
Date Reviewed:   



A sequel that will throw you for a loopin a good way.


This sequel answers all the questions that Be Careful What You Wish For left hanging.  Not My Mother’s Son is the second novel written by R. K. Avery and continues the story written about the Millers.  David’s mother Bea is in jail for kidnapping and David’s life has taken a turn…for the better. 

David moves to Phoenix to start a new life and a foundation to help locate missing children.  He hires his friend Rich, to move to Phoenix as well and help him get started.  David is given his mother’s journal to read and he finds out things about her that blow his mind.  He starts to understand her more and tries to come to terms with their relationship by visiting her in jail.  Bea is still as devious as ever and keeps reminding David that “things aren’t always what they seem.”

I like the fact that David takes a new positive approach to life but felt that his character development in this novel was too simple.  My issue was that he had just been through the trauma of growing up and living in a household with Bea and could not possibly be quite that upbeat.  David begins to read Bea’s twisted journal and has to come to terms with who she was and why and also what has happened to his brothers.  I kept waiting for some of the deeper issues to come out in his personality and be dealt with. 

The plot twists in this book really threw me for a loop in a good way.  Avery has a good imagination and threw some curve balls in there to make you stop and go, “Whoah, where did that come from?”  I was totally surprised by the ending and, if you have read the first novel, you have to read this one to tie up the loose ends.  Again, “things aren’t always what they seem.”


Author Details

Back to author listing and Review search

R. Avery Author:  R. K. Avery


R. K. Avery, a recent graduate of the Institute of Childrens Literature, discovered one thing during her coursework she loves writing adult fiction! Having been kidnapped from a beach as a small child, she has pondered time and time again what her life may have been like if her story didnt have a happy ending. R. K. Avery lives in Macedonia, Ohio, with her husband, two kids, and three dogs. Please visit her at